War Machines of Minas Tirith II

Citadel Gondor Battlecry Trebuchet.

Gondor Battlecry Trebuchet with Crew.

My final model for the first 6-month Tale of Painters challenge, a second Gondor Battlecry Trebuchet for the collection. In an obverse situation to the Balefire Catapult, the crew were painted ages ago, alongside some batch or another of Warriors of Minas Tirith, while the Trebuchet itself languished for at least a year.

Citadel Gondor Battlecry Trebuchet Crew

Trebuchet Crew in Dance-off.

This one, like the first, was an eBay rescue job. The metal was assembled, but coming apart and sprayed black. I assumed that I’d be able to knock it together in just a couple of days like I did with the first one, and in the same style. I took apart a few of the bits (stone, counterweight, cranks), cleaned them up from the glue residue, then started to set up a base on a large GW oval, and then… meh for the better part of another year. Until I finally got it done on the last day of the challenge. So there’s that as far as motivation goes.

Citadel Gondor Battlecry Trebuchet.

Oh-so-exciting reverse angle of the Trebuchet.

I’ll showcase what I managed to paint within the 6-months next up.

4 thoughts on “War Machines of Minas Tirith II

  1. Nicely done mate – the dancing crew look really cool! I can see why it took a while to get the motivation up for the thrower though, that’s a lot of wood… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • In the end, it pretty much only took me a day to get done in between time spent in The Division. Like most figures that sit there forever for me, it’s much more overcoming a mental block than any inherent difficulty. Although, there was some base warping I noticed recently that took a couple of weeks to (mostly) make right.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.