Warriors of Minas Tirith – Spearmen (6-Month Tale of Gamers Challenge)

Citadel Lord of the Rings Warriors of Minas Tirith - Captain and Standard Bearer

Another unit completed for the Gondor army as part of the Jan-June painting challenge. I’m finding these guys pretty tedious at this point, so I’ll certainly be doing something to mix it all up a bit for the July-December challenge.

Citadel Lord of the Rings Warriors of Minas Tirith - Captain and Standard Bearer

These guys are another unit that had models shuffled around when KoW went to a second edition. I only noticed the other day when playing SAGA that a unit of spearmen had a couple of holes in their front rank, just waiting for a command pair. So I pulled out an appropriate pair of models and got them painted up pretty quickly.

Citadel Lord of the Rings Warriors of Minas Tirith - Captain and Standard Bearer

I find it amusing that the needs of wargaming result in the Captains of Gondor having armour with more bling than someonme as important as Faramir did in the films. Then again, the other option is either to not have them stand out at all, or have them all standing on big piles of rubble/tactical rocks.

Result: Another completed unit of Minas Tirith/Gondor/Kingdoms of Men Spearmen. I should have something more interesting for the next update!

8 thoughts on “Warriors of Minas Tirith – Spearmen (6-Month Tale of Gamers Challenge)

    • Thanks, but no – not at all. As mentioned, the trees are all embossed. It’s quite shallow and a bit hard to do (aka very annoying) on the plastics, but embossed all the same. When I get to Boromir with banner it’ll all be freehand, since there’s no sculpted details on him. Hopefully I can get him done towards the end of the challenge.

      Like

  1. Lovely job dude, and a great looking unit. It can become such a grind churning out blocks of uniforms, but I think the end results are satisfying in ways that can’t be matched with singles… I hope you feel the same once you’re done with this challenge mate 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Alex, and you’re right – they do look very impressive once ranked up with their fellows. That’s the main satisfaction that I get from these guys at this point, because individually I’m quite over them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.