From the Painting Desk #1 – Lord of the Rings

Not to mince too many words. Since the last post I stopped painting , and only recently started again. Here’s some WIP stuff from the painting desk from the last month and a bit. The next update will have some finished stuff.

Citadel Lord of the Rings The Mouth of Sauron Foot and Mounted WIP

The Mouth of Sauron. Foot is nearing completion here, while Mounted is still to have his arm pinned.

Citadel Lord of the Rings The Mouth of Sauron Mounted WIP, Black Numenorian Infantry WIP

After assembly and spraying is completed, the mouth of Sauron takes a dip into the Sandbox, along with some Black Numenorian infantry. I just recieved my second batch of Black Numenorian cavalry a couple of days ago, so once I assemble the 10 horsemen to my satisfaction, I’ll start painting them up along with the Mounted version of the Mouth, so he can lead them into battle! At some stage I’ll get further onto the Numenorian Infantry, as well. Painting guys in dirty black robes with rusty armour is already starting to wear thin, though..

Citadel Lord of the Rings SBG Orcs, Mounted Ringwraiths WIP

Some Orcs. Since they’re basically low-detail Plastic figures which you field in hordes I’m not going to put any significant effort into them. Also some Black Riders on the edge of the pic.

Citadel Lord of the Rings SBG Mounted Ringwraiths WIP

My first three Black Riders in the Latter WIP stages. I’ve since finished these, and picked up 2 more. Should have 3 more in another week or so, plus the mounted Witch-King model I finally assembled recently will give me Nine as depicted in the films and pretty much everywhere. I’ve also got most of the GW-created versions and the Witch-King wearing his Iron Crown on horse, but I’ve always wanted to get the nine of the “classic” Riders.

Citadel Lord of the Rings SBG Mounted Ringwraith WIP

A little later on. This one of the Rider figures combined with that particular sword arm is my favorite. I think it has lots of character, and a nice sense of menace.

Citadel Lord of the Rings SBG Mounted Ringwraiths, Witch King WIP

The mounted Witch-King, along with Khamul the Easterling mounted. You can see how the can of black primer ran out partway through the undercoating process…

Marauder Miniatures Treeman

A GW Warhammer Treeman. I always liked this model (and the other one, with the skully face). I finally finished this one during my last painting phase when I did the Orc featured in the first posts, but never photographed it until now. It makes a fine enough Ent, since they come in all shapes and sizes. I wonder if I have skully-face lost in one of my minis boxes.. ?

Citadel Lord of the Rings SBG Treeman WIP

The new LOTR plastic Treeman, at WIP stage. This is why I got the older WFB one out. This guy has since been finished, and while everyone else I’ve shown it to seems to think it’s good, I’m still not happy with how it turned out. I’ll get some pics of the finished version up at some stage.

Citadel Lord of the Rings SBG Bridge of Khazad-Dum Gandalf WIP

Gandalf at Khazad-Dum. I still haven’t even assembled the Balrog, since the damned thing was badly warped when I got around to it. I should have checked it out sooner and forced GW to give me a refund. Can’t really do that when you try to assemble it several years after buying it. I prefer using the dark blue-grey for Gandalf, rather than the film-accurate dull, dirty grey. After all, if everything was film-accurate, a good half of the miniatures would essentially be shades of dirty grey.

That’ll do for now.

6 thoughts on “From the Painting Desk #1 – Lord of the Rings

  1. I like the way you have panted your figures.
    I saw you are having a hard time tracking metal orcs.
    It was hard to get them all when they were current.

    Good luck.
    Charlie (Oldman Willow)

    Like

    • Thanks Charlie for the kind words. I’m sure I’ll get some of them at least if I keep my eyes open, though I’ve only seen the plastics around to date.

      Like

  2. Pingback: From the Painting Desk #2 | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  3. Pingback: Gandalf the Grey – Speedpaint | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  4. Pingback: The Fellowship of the Ring Scenario Project Pt2: The Black Riders – Mounted Nazgûl (June-It ’18) | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  5. Pingback: The Mouth of Sauron (Foot & Mounted) – Technical August | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.