Renedra Generic Scenery: Tents

Renedra Saxon Tents, Renedra Generic Tents.

Vikings provide “human scale”, while the side-by-by-side of the tents shows their own size variation.

By now, regular readers will know of my fondness for scatter terrain and especially terrain that is reasonably generic, so that it can be used in a variety of settings. With that in mind, and an eye to “fill in” a bit of a hole in my scenic collection, I picked up a set of Renedra’s Saxon Tents and 2 sets of Mixed Tents awhile back, in June of last year. This combination of purchases giving me two of each tents open, and two closed – enough for a couple of small camps or one large non-uniform encampment.

Renedra Saxon Tents

Renedra Bell Tents

Renedra Ridge Tents

Renedra Dog Tents

I finally decided to get them done and batch painted them during January, with a base of cream spray paint, drybrushes of bone, a spray of Plastic Soldier Company’s weathering spray and an alcohol wipe-off, another drybrush and some brown lining for tent flaps, and then doing the pegs. Pretty simple overall, but unfortunately they came out a fair bit more yellowed than I’d planned. I went for a yellowish linen because again – I wanted them to be generic rather than tied to Vikings or Saxons or WWII GIs or whomever. For the same reason, I declined to base them. This way I can lay them down on whatever tabletop surface I’m playing on and they’ll still look decent. Here they are on the Badlands Mat I recently reviewed.

Renedra Tents

A feral and savage wolfpack attacks a Viking encampment.

Renedra Tents

Insert “Who let the dogs out?” joke here.

Just a couple of shots showing them set up on a table. I actually remembered to add in the little campfires here as well.