Neferata, Queen of Mysteries and Bastet (2000) – (6-Month Tale of Gamers Challenge)

My final entry for May in the painting challenge. Not to be confused with the “update” – the 2015 End Times/Age of Sigmar model: Neferata, Mortarch of Blood. This is the original model, circa 1999-2000. Sculpted by either Colin Grayson or perhaps Trish Carden (Morrison) or Aly Morrison, it was released to compliment the first edition of Warhammer Armies: Vampire Counts, for 5th Edition Warhammer Fantasy Battle.

Neferata, Queen of Mysteries and Bastet (2000)

Neferata, Queen of Mysteries and Leonard the Cat

I bought this figure sometime around then to paint as a gift for Marouda. The fact that she came with a cat familiar was a significant factor in doing so. As readers of the blog would know – I like cats. Anyway, fast forward more than a decade, and the figure still had nothing but a base coat of a green dress, and so recently I got off my fat arse and decided to paint and actually finish the pair of them.

Neferata, Queen of Mysteries and Bastet (2000)

Neferata’s side view. Leonard is ready to defend his liege.

I didn’t really worry at all about painting Neferata “correctly”. My only concern was painting her as a good looking vampire model. Due to her size, she got transferred to a 32mm base. I went for a deep red dress. I considered adding some fancy swirls or the like with silver as embroidery, but I preferred to concentrate on the transition from deep shadow at her feet to a highlight at the hips and breasts. My challenge was highlighting red into “light red” without going into either orange, yellow or pink. I think it actually worked pretty well, actually. Her pale almost-white skin was shaded very slightly with red and purple, though I’m having some contrast issues with these photos as I get to grips with my new camera.

Neferata, Queen of Mysteries and Bastet (2000)

Neferata and Leonard’s rear view.

The cat, Bastet, originally had a tiny skull on his forehead which got carved off, to make it a little more cat-like and leave space for Leonard’s forehead “star”. Bastet has now been taken over and renamed Leonard. The slight satin sheen of the varnish has had a nice (intended) effect on the fur where I’d only highlighted very subtly. Because it’s black fur, not grey or white.

Neferata, Queen of Mysteries and Bastet (2000)

Have one more photo.

Clearly, Neferata will make a perfectly good Vampire Lord for Kings of War, perhaps even using Lady Ilona’s profile.

Don’t mess with Leonard!

 

11 thoughts on “Neferata, Queen of Mysteries and Bastet (2000) – (6-Month Tale of Gamers Challenge)

  1. Excellent job. I think you achieved your goal with the red. Doesn’t look orange to me. I think for the deepest shadows you can mix a bit of green in the red, which seems to be a trick the old masters used to give red some depth. Her face is quite interesting. It looks very cat-like, so a cool idea to have her familiar to be one. Did you consider using some Tamiya Red Clear on the blade? Just a drop on the tip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I added a touch of both black and purple to the depths of the robe, though I’m not sure how well it can be seen in the photo. Her face has come out quite badly in these photos – I’ll have to retake some shots soon when I’ve better worked out my camera. I can’t take credit for the familiar choice, though – it came with her.

      I’m not sure about adding clear red to the blade. If I can figure out how to add an effective dried blood look to something this small, I could see that working for me, though it’d have to be super subtle.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Undead Army Showcase – July 2016 | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a Reply

