C22 Orc Bolt Thrower

C22 Orc Bolt Thrower – Citadel Miniatures, 1988.

Something from 1988, this Bolt Thrower sat around part painted for more than a decade. Recently I noticed it on the paint desk and decided to get rid of it – doing so in my current fashion by finishing the bloody thing. The crew had already been painted several years ago, so it was really a no-brainer that somehow took me years to figure out. What does that say about me, then?

What does Short Attention Span mean?

Ahem.

So anyway, I finally got it done. Semi-interesting fact: The same bolt thrower was also packaged with Dwarf Crew for a time as a Dwarf Bolt Thrower – sometime after they discontinued the cool-looking (and much more Dwarfy) Imperial Dwarf Bolt Thrower. The thing about this Bolt Thrower is that uncrewed, it’s generic enough to be used with pretty much any army at all. My plan for the time being is to use it (and the Goblin Stone Thrower I also fixed up recently) with the LotR Moria Goblins for the time being, as my 3rd Edition Orc and Goblin army is probably quite awhile away from becoming a force that can hit the tabletop.

C22 Bolt Thrower

C22 Bolt Thrower

It’s far from an “exciting” paintjob, I’ll admit. But then it’s a simple thing made from metal and wood and wheels and spikes. Very utilitarian, and so I decided to reflect that with a very simple and straightforward paint job. I might string the bow one day down the line. But not today.

C22 Orc Bolt Thrower, Iron Claw Goblin Stone Thrower

Orc War Machines, Ready to lay the Smack Down on some Humies. Or Stunties. Or Pointy ‘eaded Elves.

C22 Orc Bolt Thrower, Iron Claw Goblin Stone Thrower

But being Orcs, a disagreement starts between the War Machine bosses.

C22 Orc Bolt Thrower, Iron Claw Goblin Stone Thrower

Fight! Fight! Fight! Fight! Fight! Fight! Fight!

4 thoughts on “C22 Orc Bolt Thrower

  1. Funnily enough, I’ve had the bolt thrower sitting around painted for decades, but not the crew. They are once again in my paint pile at the moment since I’ll be working on Orcs & Goblins alongside Dark Elves over the coming months (years).

    Like

  2. Pingback: MD8 Undead Skull Chucker/Screaming Skull Catapult | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  3. Pingback: Azazel’s Bits Box: 2015: The Year in Review | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a Reply

