Lord of the Rings Return of the King: Strategy Battle Game – Scenery!

Rarely has so grand a title announced something quite so unexciting? So anyway… remember this from 2003?

LotR RotK SBG Box. FFS!

Well, only 11 and some change years later after buying them, I’ve finally painted the scenery that came with it. I started one statue and rubble pile last year, then found the second status and rubble pile, sprayed them, then let them all sit in their own (rubble) pile on the painting desk until a couple of weeks ago, when (as you’d be used to by now) I pulled out my finger and finished the former and painted the latter.

Rubble from RotK. You might remember it from that one scene in the film.

Actually, I’m pretty happy with how well they came out in the end. Some static flock, some tufts and a bit of weathering powders have given them a look I’m quite happy with over the bog-standard drybrushing.

LotR RotK SBG Statues

For the statues I ended up repainting the first one. I went for an aged, dirty and yellowed “white” stone. Just the kind of thing to make you think of fallen civilisations. I honestly wouldn’t mind getting hold of another of these sets at some stage soon. I think another of each of these pieces would go well with the ones I’ve (finally) finished here. Now I’m tempted to string some Ivy over these. Thanks, Dareios!

An exciting group shot of my recent completed scenery for scale. They all work pretty well together.

 

14 thoughts on “Lord of the Rings Return of the King: Strategy Battle Game – Scenery!

    • Yeah, nice scenery really sets off a table well. I just wish you could setill get the Geohex mats (like my desert one). At the time I could only afford the one, but if they were still available I’d get at least 2-3 more of various tones. I find they really set down a great base for the rest of the table. If you want to see some amazing scenery, be sure and check the daggerandbrush blog as well.

      Like

    • That’s something I particularly enjoy about “low importance” things like some cheap plastic ruins. It really gives you scope to experiment where other models aren’t as forgiving. I found that “rust” pigment (of all things) worked well on these along with various browns to give some nice tonal differences.

      Like

  1. You really nailed the stone tone. Very realistic hues. I wonder if ivy would be too much in soem cases, maybe some light moss paste would give some interest but not overtake it. Given it gets rock hard you can also easily play on it.

    Like

  2. They look good Azazel. I zipped through mine in a frenzy of getting old terrain ready to game with about seven or eight years age. They are acceptable, but not nice, like these are.

    Good stuff.

    Like

    • Thanks. Admittedly These would have fitted the same description if I’d done them even 2 years ago. While I’ve always liked adding little details to terrain, It’s only been very recently really that I’ve gotten to the point where I’d bother to play with weathering powders and such on what are basically “fire and forget” bits of unimportant terrain like these. (Never mind going back with Ivy). I blame all of you guys and the inspiration that comes from regular interaction with other bloggers, both here, on your blogs and on Dakka.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Azazel’s Bits Box: 2015: The Year in Review | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a Reply

