Mantic Ogre Shooters – Blunderbuss and Crossbows – Finished!

Well, after putting a whole lot of time into them this weekend, and now some finishing off time today, I’ve finally finished the first 6 Ogres. Yes, they took me the better part of a month to do. I’m not fast, but in my defence, despite being pretty happy with the way they turned out, I found them an absolute bear to paint, My problems with them are twofold. Actually, threefold:

1) Too much fine detail. I really like Remy’s sculpts in general, and these guys look quite good if you can get past the Johnny Bravo proportions and knocked knees. The thing is he overdoes the tiny details, which are then shrunk down even more by the restic that Mantic use. There are WAY too damn many buckles and studs on the leather straps and such. If there were just a couple of figures, as in individuals, or commander-types then I’d have no problem here, but as rank & file, it’s just maddening to have to paint.

2) Arms across their bodies – Since these are missile troops, they have their arms across their bodies as they hold their blunderbusses and crossbows. it exacerbates the issues above and makes them far, far more painful to paint than open-armed ones like the melee models would be.

3) Not enough variety. Three torsos used and reused for the BB, Xbow, 1h&S, 2h and “hero” models that are also quite specific in their details and poses, paired with a total of 6 unique heads – only 2 of which I particularly like, and a couple that are awful. Then one set of arms each for the crossbows and blunderbusses. This is going to mean a hell of a lot of repetition. There;s also not a lot that can be done with them. I’ll be chopping topknots and trying to figure out how to apply helmets to these guys as I assemble more, though the GW OK models’ heads are a touch too large to use. Yes, the GW OK bodies are also very limited in posing, but they seem to make up for it with a large variety of arms, weapons, heads, gutplates and the like.

Let’s add one more point:

4) I need to paint another 6 of them – 3 more of each. D’oh!

I’ll be doing them next, so I can put painting Mantic’s Ogre Shooters behind me for awhile.

Anyway, enough of my bitching. At least the bright side is they turned out pretty well, so I’m happy with them in the end. I did enjoy assembling them and even needing to heat up each piece in very hot water was a bit of fun, as it allowed me to somewhat vary their arm poses slightly.

The light is a bit glarey in these photos, but it’s the best I could do today. It’s creating a bit more contrast than I’d like, but that’s life. The figures still need a couple of final things done to completely finish them. First they need to be varnished. I wanted to get the photos before the matt varnish flattens out my blending – something that always annoys me – and following that I’ll be adding some tufts (sorry Cash – I like ’em!) and then some weathering powder to dirty up their feet and blend them in with their bases a little.

I also found my Pin Vice this morning, as well as some larger bits, so I drilled out the barrels of the blunderbusses. I think I mentioned it before, but I ended up basing these on Citadel 40mm square bases for consistency in the force, which is largely made up otherwise of the classic GW models.

Finally, a couple of group shots. I’ll take some new ones down the line when the whole 600-pt Army is finished. And then again when it bumps to 1200 and 2000pts. As you can see, these figures could be easily proxied into Warhammer Fantasy Battle if you want a different look to the Ogre Kingdoms models. Additionally, since it’s been Kings of War Week over on Beasts of War, I thought I’d throw them a link since I’m painting these Mantic Ogres for a KoW list anyway, so whoring myself out slightly is a no-harm, no-foul kinda situation in context…

Ogre Index:

Jes Goodwin Classic Citadel Ogres #1

Bob Olley’s Classic Citadel Ogres

Golfag’s Ogre Mercenaries

Mantic’s Ogre Shooters: Units 1 and 2.  And Based.

Mantic Ogre WIP 1 (and army concepts/some of the other ogres pre-touchup and rebasing)

Mantic Ogre WIP 2

 

15 thoughts on “Mantic Ogre Shooters – Blunderbuss and Crossbows – Finished!

  1. Well despite issues with painting these guys (and I can definitely see what you mean about the posing and detail for infantry style troops) they have turned out absolutely amazing. Although painful it’s going to be really worth it in the end I think with how impressive they’re going to look on the table!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Classic Citadel Ogres for Kings of War – Unit 1 | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  3. Pingback: Mantic Ogre Shooters – Blunderbuss and Crossbows – Based! | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  4. Thanks! I’m working my way through the older Citadel figures and updating them at a decent rate (new bases, touchups) and have (mostly) finished cleaning the flash from the next six of these Mantic Shooters. Oddly enough, *that* part of the project is progressing rather slowly…

    Like

  5. Pingback: Classic Citadel Ogres for Kings of War – Unit 2 – Olley’s Ogres | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  6. I know that I am late to the party here, but would GW ork/orc heads work on these models? If the ears were trimmed and a very basic GS addition made to the nose then that might give you the variation in heads that you are looking for.

    There are so many GW orc/ork heads available these days that it might work out. There are helmeted heads that might even allow you to avoid having to do conversion work other than the basic head swap.

    Great work by the way. Painting them may be frustrating you, but the results look worth it from where I am sitting 🙂

    Like

    • Its a good suggestion, and I did look into that, but the newer Orc heads are a bit too detailed for my paltry sculpting skills to make a decent looking nose for. (Damn you Nelson!) They’ve almost moved away a lot from the older Kev Adams style (which was pretty similar to many of Jes’ classic Ogre faces). The plastic Black Orc heads I have here are just *too* Warhammer-Orcy (I tried them). I’ll look into some more/other helmeted heads via bitz vendors as I intend to do a bitz order in my next pay (or the one after). Any specific Orc/Ork kits you’d recommend checking out for heads?

      Like

      • Im definitely no sculptor, but I would have thought that adding a nose to the ork heads would be straightforward, considering the cartoony, vaguely Popeye/Bluto/Bruto/Wallace and Gromit look to those guys heads. But I havent tried it and I do shy away from things like that whenever I can myself, so I probably shouldnt suggest it either. Expediency is my watchword and that sort of thing becomes a time sink.

        Im not really an expert on orks either, despite working on a few at the moment, so I cant really recommend anything specific with any authority.

        That said, with the multiple, spare heads in ork and orc GW kits, plus the large range of compatible heads available from Kromlech, Maxmini, Spellcrow, Micro Arts Studio (and others I am sure) I figured that there surely must be something compatible.

        I am a big believer in a coat of paint covering a multitude of supposedly incongruous elements/miniatures, particularly at a distance. If it were me I imagine that I would have gone for broke jammed a couple of GW heads into those guys for some variety anyway 😀

        I quite enjoy those sculpts really. Johnny Bravo sums them up well, but they look cool and are preferable to the Ogre Kingdoms stuff IMO.

        Like

        • Honestly, it might be, but the Nelson orcs heads are just too distinctively orcish in my view. I dry-fit some of the Black Orc heads, and they looked too Orky to me as well. I’ll be getting some sets of Orc Boar Rider heads shortly, but that’s because I think they look great, though I sadly doubt they’ll work for the Ogres.

          The second batch of Mantic ogres have a couple of the OK heads as well as somewhat carved up versions of the Mantic heads, so should look fine on the tabletop.

          If I could find third-party heads that worked for me, I’d do it, but Kromlech (as much as I love their other stuff) have awful ork heads that look worse than the most cartoony of Bonner’s artwork. Maxmini’s are utterly brilliant (I need to order some more of their new stuff, actually!) and none of the others have panned out to my liking.
          The fully-enclosed OK heads would be great, but cost a fortune from the bitz vendors, and chaos warrior/plastic knight heads (some of which could also work) are way too small. Maybe there’ll be some appropriate heads from new plastic Ironbreakers when they come out shortly for me to put on the noggins of my Mantic Melee ogres. GW’s Dwarf heads might have the right proportions for Mantic Ogres. Beards in iron buckets sounds good!

          Like

  7. Pingback: Classic Citadel Ogres for Kings of War – Unit 3 – Golfag’s Ogres | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  8. Pingback: Well, *that* worked well, didn’t it? So anyway, here’s some Ogres! | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  9. Pingback: A Small Ogre Update | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  10. Pingback: Mantic Ogre Shooters – Units 3 and 4: 2013-2015 (a year on) | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  11. Pingback: Mantic Ogre Shooters – Units 3 and 4: 2013-2015 (a year on) | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a Reply

