Fog on the Barrow-Downs

I’ve had a blister of two GW Barrow-Wights in one of my figure boxes for the better part of a decade, and no real priority to get them painted, until the recent painting challenge over at www.one-ring.co.uk gave me a prod to get them started and finished. I was originally going to paint them in a dull, slightly bluish-grey, quite similar to the GW examples when I came upon TheBucklandBrewer’s excellent renditions, I decided to draw direct inspiration from his luminous deep blue scheme and od something similar, though my figures have a more turquise shade to them, as well as a “drier” or “dustier” look, which I thought would look good, and make mine look at least a little different (though I did also steal his light-sourced base idea as well).

The Barrow-Wight figures. After taking these pictures I realised that the tassel on the left-hand one was unpainted. That’s being rectified.

I also nicked and painted up two of my wife’s Army of the Dead plastics to represent two more Barrow-Wights, since I wanted to have the 4 that are needed for the SBG scenario in the Fellowship Sourcebook, and wanted to do so without repeating the models, since GW have only ever released the two above. I might get hold of some Mithril Miniatures Wights later on, but they’re not easily or readily available where I live, or from any of my regular overseas retailers without silly shipping costs.

The first two shots were taken outdoors in natural light. These two are “on the shelf” indoor shots, and are closer to how the figures actually look in hand. I like the luminosity that they have under standard lighting.

4 thoughts on “Fog on the Barrow-Downs

  1. Amazing paintjob. I really like the turquise shade. Can you give me the link to TheBucklandBrewer’s excellent rendition? Can you also give me your painting guide if you want.

    I also like all you paintjobs, like fe Gandalf. You’ve a new follower 😉

    Like

    • Thank you for the kind words. Sadly, I can’t remember how I painted these guys any more – it’s been such a long time. I think I mixed the turquoise up myself – they were painted long before I bought a bunch of new-GW, Vallejo and P3 paints to fill that gap, so it was most likely some combination of Vallejo Game Colour Dark Green, VGC Ultramarine Blue, and then highlighted by adding white or off-white (such as Bonewhite, Dead Flesh, Elfic Flesh, etc)

      I’ve got a couple of unremarkable units of Minas Tirith troops nearing completion (just need some instruments to convert some musicians, then paint them, and then they’ll be done) – but I’ll get some more of my Middle-Earth figures photographed soon. Hopefully in a couple of weeks. 🙂

      Unfortunately, after some looking about, it seems that thebucklandbrewer’s Barrow Wights have been lost to the ages (broken links). They were featured here:
      http://www.one-ring.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=96&t=18131

      Like

  2. Pingback: Citadel Spirit Hosts – Completed! + LotR Barrow-Wights. | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a Reply

